Site Logo

The ArtCAM Forum - Community help, support and advice for the ArtCAM family of CNC software

This forum is for existing and potential ArtCAM users to share knowledge, tips and tricks.
 
It is currently 24 Oct 2014, 15:40

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: How do I edit vector nodes in version 5.5?
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2004, 17:53 
Offline
ArtCAM User
ArtCAM User

Joined: 01 Jul 2004, 16:03
Posts: 12
Location: Spokane, WA
When creating a v-bit tool path to engrave letters I get ugly distortion at parts of the letters. Four hours of reading and research tell me this is due to vector loops. It seems that I need to "edit the nodes" but I find no tool to accomplish this. If someone could point me in the right direction I would much appreciate it.

Thanks,

_________________
JerryRigger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 07 Jul 2004, 19:33 
Offline
ArtCAM User
ArtCAM User
User avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 2003, 05:31
Posts: 76
Select the vector you want to edit then ungroup it till you see all the points. The you can hoover over the point and hit the right mouse button to access different tools to edit it with. Or you can hoover over a point and drag it where you want it to go.

Hope this helps some.

Donny


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Some progress made.
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2004, 01:03 
Offline
ArtCAM User
ArtCAM User

Joined: 01 Jul 2004, 16:03
Posts: 12
Location: Spokane, WA
Thanks Donny for the tip. I can now see the individual nodes on the letter but I am not sure what to do with them. I moved the nodes around and distorted the letter somewhat. That eliminated one loop but another one popped up on the bottom of the letter. I am wondering what my goal should be. Tinker with the nodes till the loops disappear or is there a scientific method to do this?

Thanks again.

_________________
JerryRigger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2004, 02:50 
Offline
ArtCAM User
ArtCAM User
User avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 2003, 05:31
Posts: 76
When you look at the nodes you can usually see 2 lines with boxes sticking out from the node. Grab one of those boxes and move it around. You can straighten the lines or curve them so that there are no loops. I would also suggest useing the smooth Vector button to convert from lines to Beziers if not already.
Hope that helps a little more. I didn't understand the question at the beginning.

Donny


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I got it now.
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2004, 03:31 
Offline
ArtCAM User
ArtCAM User

Joined: 01 Jul 2004, 16:03
Posts: 12
Location: Spokane, WA
Now I can fix the loops. I followed your instructions and also I used something called offset vectors. Your help is greatly appreciated.

_________________
JerryRigger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 08 Jul 2004, 05:53 
Offline
ArtCAM User
ArtCAM User
User avatar

Joined: 30 Dec 2003, 05:31
Posts: 76
:P Glad to help.. Post a pic of your finished product so we can see what ya up to.

Donny


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template based on RedSilver Theme