Site Logo

The ArtCAM Forum - Community help, support and advice for the ArtCAM family of CNC software

This forum is for existing and potential ArtCAM users to share knowledge, tips and tricks.
 
It is currently 01 Oct 2014, 13:12

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2012, 03:16 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
I am new to Atrcam Express and have been trying to put slots into a machinned fret board and have had little sucess as all I can achieve is to completely remachine the fret board again with the slot cutter. Is there any wat just to cut the slots ? Do I require additional software ? I would like some help from anyone please.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2012, 13:29 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User

Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 15:34
Posts: 2106
Location: Wichita, KS
if your tool is the same diameter as the slot then use machine along a vector toolpath,(under 2d profile toolpath) if the tool dia is smaller than the slot then use area clear.
Gary

_________________
Beckwith Decor Products
(316)652-7375 skype:beckwithdecor
ArtCAM Reseller & Trainer
Custom CNC Cutters/Onsrud Dealer


Wichita/Derby Kansas
http://www.beckwithdecor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 03:49 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
Gary

Thanks for your Information however I can't find in the toolpath how to enter a 2nd vector or clear area
In the profile option displayed is Inside,Along, Outside.
I am using Express Basic with the additional Vector and 2D machinning modules .
I will be using cutters of the fret dia. and I want to produce radius fret slots
Sorry accidently submitted before I was finisted
Ray


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2012, 17:32 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User

Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 15:34
Posts: 2106
Location: Wichita, KS
Ray
for machine along a vector you first select the vector then under the "create profile toolpath" (2d toolpath)you select to machine "Along" the vector as you found from the drop down box then fill in the rest of your toolpath requirements, depth of cut, tool & etc.
For the area clear it must be a closed vector such as a rectangle then select "create area clearance toolpath" from the 2d toolpath section.

I would strongly recommend you re-visit the booklet that came with Express as well as view the "how to videos" from the live tab within the software, also there is a lot of posted youtube videos which will be very helpful to get you started in the right direction.
Gary

_________________
Beckwith Decor Products
(316)652-7375 skype:beckwithdecor
ArtCAM Reseller & Trainer
Custom CNC Cutters/Onsrud Dealer


Wichita/Derby Kansas
http://www.beckwithdecor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2012, 07:17 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
Gary
Thanks again for your help.

I have studied the booklet and also printed out the manual but find it hard to see what is really available for express basic as the manual specifies availability for Jewelcase and Insignia but what is not included for the basic program but I understand this is done for economical reasons. It woud be nice if each option had a symbol noting what Module can use it..

I understand the straight vector application but I want to produce the slots with their base with a radius not flat and I don't know how to make a toolpath do this where the Z axis can cutthe radius.

Regards Ray


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2012, 13:05 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User

Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 15:34
Posts: 2106
Location: Wichita, KS
Ray
You might also contact your reseller about some training.

Within Express you do not have the capability to create an under lying relief to do a radius in Z.
You would need Insignia R2 or above for those features.
You could employee someone to create the relief for you, which you would then import & toolpath, or you could manually edit the g-code which can be painstakingly slow and mind numbing, especially if you have little understanding of the code.
Gary

_________________
Beckwith Decor Products
(316)652-7375 skype:beckwithdecor
ArtCAM Reseller & Trainer
Custom CNC Cutters/Onsrud Dealer


Wichita/Derby Kansas
http://www.beckwithdecor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 01 May 2012, 00:22 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
Gary
Thanks again but what you have advised is what I thought was the case.

I purchased Express on line as I don't believe that there is a reseller in Australia.

Thanks again and I will see what else I can dream up to do this function

Regards Ray


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 01 May 2012, 02:46 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User

Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 15:34
Posts: 2106
Location: Wichita, KS
Ray, you didn't say where your located but the Aust Reseller is Camplex located in Melb. actually in Caulfield (some of my old stopping ground) Glen Huntley and Hawthorn rd.
There are some excellent video's done by the Delcam staff for Express both posted here http://forum.artcam.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=15090 and on youtube
Attachment:
fret board.jpg
fret board.jpg [ 112.06 KiB | Viewed 3900 times ]

guess your looking for something like that
Gary

_________________
Beckwith Decor Products
(316)652-7375 skype:beckwithdecor
ArtCAM Reseller & Trainer
Custom CNC Cutters/Onsrud Dealer


Wichita/Derby Kansas
http://www.beckwithdecor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 01 May 2012, 04:05 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
Greg
Thanks again and I live by the beach at Ocean Grove but I moved from Ringwood in Melbourne 4 yrs ago
I will look Camplex up and see how I go

Regards Ray


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 05 May 2012, 04:23 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
Gary

The illustration you sent shows what I want to produce and I can't manage to do that.
I have got to the stage where I produce the tool path and I can produce the simulation OK but when I look at the G Coce all the toolpath produces is the roughing and not the finishing. The longitudinal Y axis clearance routing is prodiced as horizontal machinning slabs but the X axis Radius finish produced at all is not although shown in the simulation. The machine maker advised that I should use model master Index MMG Machine toolpaths. All the help I got from Camplex was to buy Insignia which is too expensive for me.
If Express can't do this I will have to sit down and write a G Code program to do all the fretboard and slots myself

Regards Ray


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 05 May 2012, 14:26 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User

Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 15:34
Posts: 2106
Location: Wichita, KS
Ray
thats what I informed you above
Quote:
Within Express you do not have the capability to create an under lying relief to do a radius in Z.
You would need Insignia R2 or above for those features.
You could employee someone to create the relief for you, which you would then import & toolpath, or you could manually edit the g-code which can be painstakingly slow and mind numbing, especially if you have little understanding of the code.

Gary

_________________
Beckwith Decor Products
(316)652-7375 skype:beckwithdecor
ArtCAM Reseller & Trainer
Custom CNC Cutters/Onsrud Dealer


Wichita/Derby Kansas
http://www.beckwithdecor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 06 May 2012, 01:17 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
Gary

I don't quite understand that if the simulation shows the radius being cut why the can't the toolpath save the simulation. It just seems a little odd to me
Regards Ray


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 06 May 2012, 02:34 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User
Verified ArtCAM Insignia/Pro/JS User

Joined: 16 Oct 2004, 15:34
Posts: 2106
Location: Wichita, KS
Ray, how did you get your relief radius? If it was created in Insignia or above and you open it in Express then you can toolpath and cut.
or you can import a 3d model such as a stl file to toolpath and cut but you cannot create a relief in Express

post your art. file or a screen shot, If you like you can email your art file to me. I'm presuming the radius you are referring to is your vectors in the 2d plane.
Gary

_________________
Beckwith Decor Products
(316)652-7375 skype:beckwithdecor
ArtCAM Reseller & Trainer
Custom CNC Cutters/Onsrud Dealer


Wichita/Derby Kansas
http://www.beckwithdecor.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 06 May 2012, 09:25 
Offline
Verified ArtCAM Express User
Verified ArtCAM Express User

Joined: 27 Apr 2012, 09:32
Posts: 9
Gary

I am only working with Express and the attachment shows part of the rad toolpath simulation. This is only a small teial piece

I thought that I might try doing all the rad shaye on the Y axis Then do the insert slots toolpath on the Y a andthe change the g code in Y to X with multile slots

If this didn't work what would it cost to upgrade express which has 2d machinning and vectors modules to enable to do all the rads work in the Y


Attachments:
File comment: This shows rad in X axis in the simulation
Pictureradtpath.jpg
Pictureradtpath.jpg [ 203.94 KiB | Viewed 3777 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Making Fret Board for Electric Guitar
PostPosted: 06 May 2012, 10:40 
Offline
ArtCAM Staff
ArtCAM Staff
User avatar

Joined: 25 Feb 2008, 14:57
Posts: 5461
Location: Birmingham, UK
Hi Ray,
Rayaus wrote:
what would it cost to upgrade express which has 2d machinning and vectors modules
When upgrading from ArtCAM Express to ArtCAM Insignia, the full price of ArtCAM Express plus 80% of the sum of all of your purchased modules is discounted from the listed price of ArtCAM Insignia. This discount is automatically applied when making your purchase through the ArtCAM Online Store as an existing customer.

Kind regards,

Dillon

_________________
In today's environment, hoarding knowledge ultimately erodes your power. If you know something very important, the way to get power is by actually sharing it. - Joseph L. Badaracco


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template based on RedSilver Theme